Delicious Langoustines in Höfn

I didn’t do much during my stay in Höfn, but I’m really happy that I stopped there for a night, because that’s where I found the best Langoustines I’ve ever eaten! I would say without hesitation they’re the best of the world!

Back in 2010, I travelled around Iceland by bus. Iceland was not as popular as it is today and I didn’t book hostels in advance. I decided on a daily basis where I would stay for the night; it was awesome! The bus stop in Hofn is near a campground, but there was not place left when I got there. I found a hostel in my travel book and I called them before to make sure there was a bed left. I walked there – which seemed to be a very long distance because of my heavy backpack. After I left my backpack at the hostel, I wandered in the city and realized that most of the shops, museums or tourist office were close (I arrived during the evening)… So I walked until I found that bench, from which I had a great view on four diffrent ice tongues. The area was so quiet and peaceful, I felt really grateful and lucky to be there. The surrounding landscapes of Hofn are so stunning, my favorite thing to do in the city was just walk!

IMG_3044.jpg

After that dinner, I walked around the city shrouded in a mysterious fog.

img_3052


WHAT TO DO

Take a swim

Höfn Swimming Pool: whether you want to swim in the 25-meter outdoor pool, have fun in the water slides, or relax in the hot tubs, icebath, and steambath, Höfn Swimming Pool is  a great place to visit!

Admission: 850 ISK for adults, 200 ISK for children.

Vatnajokull National Park Visitor Center

The 2-story visitors center offers a video about the park, relief maps of the area that help to understand the geography, very interesting panels about avalanches and history, a little gift shop and nice restrooms. There is a free map of the area near the entrance door. You can buy more detailed maps for hiking trips.The Visitor Center is located at Heppuvegur 1, Hofn 780, and is usually open from 9 am to 7 pm.


WHERE TO EAT

Humarhöfnin Veitingahús Restaurant

I LOVED that restaurant! Cute and cheeful ambiance, sumptuous meals! Here’s the dish I ordered (3,500 ISK in 2010; 4,500 ISK in 2017, according to the restaurant’s website): Langoustine baguette – Crusty baguette with garlic butter, grilled langoustine tails (150 gr), salad, tomatoes, basil and pink langoustine sauce. I know it might be a bit pricey for us backpackers, but it’s really worth every penny!

img_3050

Click here to see a list of restaurants recommended by Lonely Planet.


WHERE TO SLEEP

I spent the night at Nyibær Guesthouse. Back in 2010, this place offered sleeping bag accommodation (2,500 ISK for sleeping bag accommodation in a 6-bed dorm in June 2010), but they don’t seem to offer it anymore.

For a cheaper place to stay, choose HI Hostel Hofn or Höfn campground. If you didn’t bring a tent with you, the camping also offers sleeping bag accommodation in cottages. The campground and the hostel are very well located for those who travel in Iceland by bus. The campground is only a few minutes walk form the swimming pool and offers access to electricity ($), cooking facilities, wireless internet connection ($), washing facilities ($) and a playground.

There are many accomodation options in Hofn, click here to see a list on Booking.com.

One thought on “Delicious Langoustines in Höfn

  1. Pingback: Food in Iceland | CRAVINGS OF A WANDERHER

Leave a Reply

