My favorite stops along the Ring Road

Route 1 (the Ring Road) is a national road in Iceland that runs around the country. Its total length is 1,332 kilometres. If you follow this route, you’ll see beautiful landscapes and pass by many splendid waterfalls

Here is a map of my favorite sights:

 

The following sights are displayed in order, as if you were driving in a counterclockwise direction from Reykjavik; driving South and then towards East.

1. Seljalandsfoss particularity is the ability to go behind the waterfall, where you get a new point of view and makes it even more impressive. This fall is 65-meter high.

2. Skogafoss (62-meter high, 25-meter wide)

Unfortunately, my bus did not stop there, so I cannot show you a better shot. But at least you can see the trail on the right of the picture, allowing you to go on top of the waterfall.

img_2576

3. Svartifoss

Read my post about this waterfall and other sights in Skaftafell!

img_2918

4. Jökulsárlón

Read my post about this mystical glacier lagoon!

img_7385

5. Dettifoss (45-meter high, 100-meter wide)

From the parking lot, it’s a 10-minute walk to get to Dettifoss, Europe’s most powerful waterfall! It was extraordinary, I was stunned! I would have liked to sit there for hours, although my hear might had suffered from it (but I couldn’t because I had to go back to the bus at some point). The noise was also impressive, but pleasant at the same time.

From Dettifoss’ parking lot, if you drive up north on road 862 for 40 minutes, you’ll end up in the Valley of Vesturdalur, where you’ll see bizarre but beautiful basalt rocks at Hljoðaklettar.

6. Víti Crater (Krafla)

The Víti eruption crater is located in the volcanic area of Krafla, east of Lake Mývatn. It is reached by a road that offers beautiful views and passes in front of the geothermal power station of Krafla. In Icelandic, “víti” means “hell”, as  people back then thought that hell was under the volcanoes. The crater seems rather peaceful in appearance, but it’s locatest in one of the youngest volcanic areas in Iceland, which still very active. The crater’s diameter is about 300 meters. It is filled with a magnificient blue water. I don’t recommend you try to go down to the lake in the crater, because the slope is steep and highly unstable.

On the road between Myvatn and Husavik, I stopped at Asbyrgi (horseshoe canyon). It’s a nice sight, but I wouldn’t make the detour for it.

7. Namafjall Hverir

Read my post to know where you can see solfatares, fumaroles, and mud pools.

img_3313

8. Hverfjall crater

Read my post to know how to hike that crater!

img_3196

9. Myvatn

Read my post about the Myvatn area!

10. Godafoss (12-meter high, 30-meter wide)

Goðafoss is neither the highest, nor the widest waterfall of Iceland, but it is one of the most majestic because of how the water flows harmoniously into it the river. Located between Myvatn and Akureyri, it is a 5-minute drive from Road 1.

img_3885

11. Gullfoss

12. Stokkur Geysir

 


Photos I took along the  road

Between Höfn and Egilsstadir

img_3114

img_3107

Leave a Reply

